Daytona Qualifying Report

• Clint Bowyer, No. 15 5-hour ENERGY Toyota — qualified 18th; Bowyer will start ninth in the second 150-mile Dual on Thursday.

• Martin Truex Jr., No. 56 NAPA AUTO PARTS Toyota- qualified 19th; Truex will start 10th in the first 150-mile Dual on Thursday.

• Mark Martin, No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine- qualified 28th; Martin will start 14th in the second 150-mile Dual on Thursday.

• Michael Waltrip, No. 26 Sandy Hook School Support Fund Toyota, Swan Racing – qualified 31st; Waltrip will start 16th in the first 150-mile Dual on Thursday.

• Danica Patrick won the Daytona 500 pole, becoming the first woman to secure the top spot for any
Sprint Cup race.
• Trevor Bayne, Ryan Newman and Tony Stewart rounded out the top five qualifiers
• Forty-five drivers made a qualifying attempt.
• The first of Thursday’s two Daytona Duels begin at 2 p.m.
• See below for explanation of Daytona qualifying


Clint Bowyer, No. 15 5-HOUR Energy Toyota: “It was a really eventful lap — I’m completely lying. It was very — no, it was not even entertaining. It was uneventful and I can’t wait to get to the race.”

Martin Truex Jr., No. 56 NAPA AUTO PARTS Toyota: ““We figured that was about what it would run. We picked up a few tenths from practice so that was good. Obviously, we’re a little slower than Kyle (Busch), which is one of our Toyota teammates so it means we have a little more work to do on our race car because we have the same engines. That’s good to know. I think our NAPA Toyota drafts pretty well and our car handled really well last night. Hopefully, it will heat up a little this week and handling will come into play and be able to get this thing driving good.”

Mark Martin, No. 55 Aaron’s Dream Machine Toyota: “That was a pretty good lap. The fastest car rarely wins the Daytona 500. Don’t get me wrong, I wish I had the fastest car in qualifying but it doesn’t mean much when it comes to the qualifying races and who wins the Daytona 500. I have an awesome Aaron’s Dream Machine and crew and we’ll be fine.”

Michael Waltrip, No. 26 Sandy Hook School Support Fund Toyota, Swan Racing: “The boys just did a great job. The car drove great. I can’t wait to race for this team. They’re just very energetic. A lot of fun. The car drove perfect. That was faster than we’ve been able to run since we’ve been here, and that’s about all you can ask for out of your boys. When you make it official that you’re able to put the most speed down that you had since you got to town.”

1 Danica Patrick
2 Trevor Bayne
3 Tony Stewart
4 Denny Hamlin
5 Joey Logano
6 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
7 Juan Pablo Montoya
8 Casey Mears
9 Carl Edwards
10 Martin Truex Jr.
11 Jimmie Johnson
12 Brad Keselowski
13 Kevin Harvick
14 Greg Biffle
15 David Gilliland
16 Michael Waltrip
17 Kurt Busch
18 Scott Speed
19 Regan Smith
20 Bobby Labonte
21 David Reutimann
22 Joe Nemechek
23 Brian Keselowski

1 Jeff Gordon
2 Ryan Newman
3 Kasey Kahne
4 Kyle Busch
5 Matt Kenseth
6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
7 Paul Menard
8 Austin Dillon
9 Clint Bowyer
10 Jeff Burton
11 Jamie McMurray
12 Marcos Ambrose
13 Aric Almirola
14 Mark Martin
15 David Ragan
16 Josh Wise
17 Michael McDowell
18 Terry Labonte
19 Dave Blaney
20 J.J. Yeley
21 Travis Kvapil
22 Mike Bliss

• Today’s two fastest qualifiers – Danica Patrick and Jeff Gordon will start the Daytona 500 first and
• The highest 15 finishers in each Duel race – excluding Patrick or Gordon – will earn a spot in the
Daytona 500, and fill positions 3-32.
• Based on their finishing position in the first Duel race, the top 15 will line up on the inside row
(odd-number starting positions).
• Based on their finishing position in the second Duel race, the top 15 will line up on the outside row
(even-number starting positions).
• Positions 33-36 will go to the four fastest cars from qualifying that have not already earned a spot.
• Position 37-42 will be provisional positions, and go to the highest six cars in 2012 owner points that
have not already qualified via the Duel or Coors Light Pole qualifying.
• The 43rd starting position will be assigned to any car owner who has the most recent eligible past
NASCAR Sprint Cup champion who did not make the field by any other method, providing the driver
had competed in the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. If the 43rd position remains unused it will
be assigned to the next highest car in 2012 owner points not already locked into the field.